NTEU Leads Ceremony Honoring Fallen CBP Colleagues

NTEU leaders honored Customs and Border Protection employees who died in the line of duty in a wreath laying ceremony last week at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, D.C.

The event was part of NTEU’s Legislative Conference, which allowed more than 100 union members to attend and pay tribute before the wall that bears the names of 23,229 law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty.

National President Tony Reardon was joined by DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas and CBP Acting Commissioner Troy Miller in honoring officers who made the ultimate sacrifice, as well as those who work at the ports and borders every day protecting our nation.

Reardon named several CBP employees who have died since early last year whose names will be added to the wall, including CBPO Bruce Eckhoff of Chapter 165; CBPO Cody Olafson of Chapter 157; and CBPO Jorge Arias of Chapter 137. The event also recognized those who died in 2021, including CBPO Brian Vogel of Chapter 187; CBPO Kenneth MacCallum of Chapter 141; and CBPO Jeffrey De La Cruz. Reardon also honored Supervisor CBPO Jacqueline Montanaro formerly of Chapter 161, Marine Interdiction Agent Michel Maceda and Border Patrol Agents Daniel Salazar and Raul Gonzalez, Jr.

Watch a short video summary of the event.